October 19th, 2015

Standard

A few weeks ago I threw myself out of my comfort/anxiety/hermit zone and joined a NaNoWriMo workshop in my area.

food_kate_shot

By doing this I was confronting 3 of my anxieties:

  • Driving downtown/at night
  • Meeting/actively communicating with a new bunch of people
  • Being vulnerable about my creativity

gesture_marilyn_confused

Tonight was the first night. For half a second my anxiety was all like “oh you don’t have to go to this one, you could “forget”.

I got in my car anyway.

I had a hell of a time finding the place, and then finding parking – all in trafficky stuff – and again, I wanted to just go home.

I went anyway.

I AM SO GLAD I WENT.

It was so great to connect with other writers, about an organization and event that I love.

I feel like this is really going to be so good for me, on several levels.

It was also a reminder of the level of anxiety I have, and the internal battles I have to argue with myself on a regular basis.

life_gottakeeplivin

Hope all is well with everyone!

Leave a Reply

