Book Review: The Camino: A Journey of the Spirit

Standard

Book Review: The Camino: A Journey of the Spirit 

By, Shirley Maclaine (Atria Books, 2001)

3/5

141044.jpg

In preparing for walking the Camino De Santiago myself this year, I’ve been really interested in the journey of others who have walked “The Way.” My boyfriend gave me this book for Christmas, and I couldn’t wait to dive in. The only thing I went into this booking knowing , is that it is mostly about the author’s spiritual journey and that it has been the inspiration for many people to do the Camino.

The book was a mostly enjoyable read. I think it is worth it for anyone who is interested in doing the Camino. I will say however, it does go quite heavily into the spiritual aspect. I enjoyed following Shirley’s spiritual journey, but it did get tough to follow in some points. All in all it was interesting to see a celebrity’s take on the Camino, and her experiences add to the mysticism that surrounds The Way.

Leave a Reply

