Some thoughts that have been on my heart about the current state of our country

I never really have thought of myself as a political activist before. I’ve always been just kind of a liberal/green leaning Christian, who happens to be bi-sexual, who stands on the side of compassion, equality and social justice.

This past year, I did the caucasus thing for the first time, as a Bernie supporter (#feelthebernforever). When he conceded I backed Hillary because I feared what would happen if Trump won.

And of course, he did.

I know as a President he only has SO MUCH power, but “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington” is one of my all time favorite films, and I also know what a political machine with the right backers can do.

A lot of people (mostly Trump supporters) have said to “Give him a chance” and that “Even though you didn’t vote for him, you need to respect him as the Commander in Chief.” Well, I come from a place where respect isn’t just handed out, it is something you earn. So far with the “chance” Trump has been given; the actions of his first 2 weeks alone, are enough to scare the ever living hell out of me.

As an American I was raised to believe that in my country we are all born equal and free. Every person apart from the Native Americans are immigrants. We are a country of immigrants, where people pull together and make the best of the situations that life hands out. “Hitch your Wagon to a Star” or “Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness”.

For goodness sake, just read the Pre-amble again, if you haven’t read it since the 7th Grade:

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America…

Everything I love, care about and stand for right now is being threatened. My rights as a women are threatened, people I love and care about feel unsafe, our earth is being threatened, and things that make life lovely (ie the arts/humanities) are even being threatened. The leader of the ‘free world’ is a man of corruption, hate and everything that I stand against.

So, as I watched the PBS News Hour coverage of the inauguration, and watched as every person I respect shake their heads in disbelief, I asked myself – what can be done? One too many conversations around our dinner table have focused on this question.

As an American citizen – I still do have some rights, but I also have some responsibilities. One of these are to make sure I do everything in my power to, do my part in protecting the Constitution, to be aware, and to take action where I can. I know that as1 person, I may not be able to effect much, but if I don’t try, I’m not effecting anything at all.

So here, is what I’ve decided to do:

First I took an oath to do my part. https://www.wall-of-us.org/taketheoath

Each week this organization helps you to be aware what is going on, and where you can take actions, to help the causes you feel passionate about.

Secondly, I started making phone calls. 

https://5calls.org/#issue/recyPsxELi8VZaixw

Just remember these Senators and members of government are our representatives. If they don’t know how the people they represent feel, then they can’t accurately represent them. (Obviously this seems to be working because as of tonight Sen. Patty Murray’s vm box is full).

Thirdly, as part of the plan to be aware, I aim to keep an eye on what Bernie and the Obama’s are working on and I plan to keep aware of the house and Senate schedule to see what is being voted on if I need to make MORE phone calls.

I’m not hating on anyone, and it’s not my place to pose judgment on anyone. My job is to show mercy to those who are oppressed, and to do what I can to be a light in the world. I will not add to the darkness, and hate but I will bring light to the causes I feel are important.

Who knows if any of this will help anything, but as people in my family fought for their country, I can do this little part to fight for mine.

Leave a Reply

