Book Review: “Pilgrimage,” by Lynn Austin

51D9sUdgf8L._SY346_We all encounter times when our spirit feels dry, when doubt looms.
The opportunity to tour Israel came at a good time. For months, my life has been a mindless plodding through necessary routine, as monotonous as an all-night shift on an assembly line. Life gets that way sometimes, when nothing specific is wrong but the world around us seems drained of color. Even my weekly worship experiences and daily quiet times with God have felt as dry and stale as last year’s crackers. I’m ashamed to confess the malaise I’ve felt. I have been given so much. Shouldn’t a Christian’s life be an abundant one, as exciting as Christmas morning, as joyful as Easter Sunday?
With gripping honesty, Lynn Austin pens her struggles with spiritual dryness in a season of loss and unwanted change. Tracing her travels throughout Israel, Austin seamlessly weaves events and insights from the Word . . . and in doing so finds a renewed passion for prayer and encouragement for her spirit, now full of life and hope.

Title:  Pilgrimage: My Journey to A Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Author: Lynn Austin
Publisher: Bethany House
Copyright: 2013
Format Read: Paperback
My Rating: 5/5
Goodreads

My Thoughts:

I first came in contact with Lynn Austin’s work about 6 years ago, by randomly picking up one of her Christian Historical Romances at a second hand Christian book store. I can’t remember exactly which book it was, but I was new to Christian Fiction and the blurb sounded good. I fell in love with the book I read, and then rapidly began picking up more of her books. (At this point I have read MOST of them, and at some point will probably do an Author’s Spotlight on her work.)

When the Beau and I were preparing for the Camino De Santiago, and also leaning toward a Holy Land trip -I became obsessed with reading about other people’s journeys, Camino’s and Pilgrimages. When I saw that one of my favorite authors had done a Holy Land Pilgrimage, I couldn’t wait to snap it up.

I wasn’t disappointed, either. This is a small book for her (241 pages), but it is packed with her warmth, humor and distinctive voice. It was nice to get to know the Author on a more personal level, and hear about where she is at in her journey. Lynn Austin isn’t afraid to bear her fears or doubts, but at the same time gives hopeful messages to herself and the reader. As a Christian, I’ve noticed people don’t like to talk much about going through periods of spiritual dryness, and instead focus on all the positiveness. Every relationship has its ups and downs, and our relationships with Christ are no different. Lynn really opens up in her book, to show her struggles as a Mom, wife and Christian Writer. It was really refreshing to read, and made her all the more relatable.

The book is set up in chapters each featuring a place she visited during the Holy Land. She talks about the places she’s seen, the people she’s met, and the historical/biblical significance of each destination.  Also, she takes the time to figure how each place may be significant to her personal journey spiritually. Each chapter ends with a prayer, and there are hand drawn sketches throughout. It’s one part travelogue, and one part spiritual journey/devotional.  In the end,  she finds the refreshing of the spirit that she’s looking for, and I have to say it helped me get some fresh insight as well. I’m sure this will be a re-read for me in the future.

Leave a Reply

